

Tazewell County Clerk / Recorder John C. Ackerman

11 South Fourth St., Rm. 203 Pekin, Illinois 61554 – 4298 Clerk's Office (309) 477-2264 Election Division (309) 477-2267 Recorder's Division (309) 477-2210

BUSINESS UNDER AN ASSUMED NAME

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

Any person or persons conducting business under an assumed name in this State must register in the Office of the County Clerk in the county where they are to conduct or transact the business pursuant to 805 ILCS 405/1. If the business will be a corporation other than a professional service corporation, or an LLC< you will need to file with the Illinois Secretary of State (217-782-7880), not the County Clerk. If the corporation will be a professional service corporation (805 ILCS 10/1) which adopts a fictitious name or continues to use the name of a deceased shareholder or the name of a member of a predecessor organization, you must file with the County Clerk of the county where your principal place of business is located. To register with the Office of the Tazewell County Clerk, you will need to follow these steps:

- 1. Complete the "Assumed Name Certificate of Intention". Please type or print neatly. Be sure to have all signatures notarized. The document can be notarized in the County Clerk's Office when it is signed in front of a deputy clerk and current identification is presented.
- 2. Return the completed form to the Tazewell County Clerk's office, 11 S. 4th Street, Suite 203, Pekin, IL. The fee for filing the certificate is \$20.00. You may pay with cash, check, debit card or credit card. There is a \$2.50 charge for debit card usage. Credit card transactions up to \$80.00 will be charged a \$2.50 fee. Additional fees apply to credit card transactions above \$80.00
- 3. The information on the Assumed Name Certificate of Intention must be published in the legal section of a newspaper which is of general circulation within Tazewell County. The first publication must be within 15 days after the certificate is filed in the office of the County Clerk. Once this is completed, be sure to provide the County Clerk's office with the Proof of Publication. This proof must be filed within 50 days after the certificate is filed in the office of the County Clerk. Proof of Publication can be obtained from the newspaper that published the legal notice.
- 4. After the Clerk's office has received Proof of Publication, you will be provided a Certificate of Ownership of Business showing that your business is registered in accordance with the Illinois State Law.
- 5. Please note that if any person changes his name or residence address or the address of any place of business in this county changes, a supplementary certificate must be filed. If any person is added to the business, a certificate of addition will have to be filed and published following the steps in Paragraph 3 above. If any person withdraws, a certificate of withdrawal must be filed. If the withdrawal effectuates any change in or transfer of the ownership of 25% or more of the total ownership interest in the business, then notice of filing must be published. All publications shall be published for three consecutive weeks in a newspaper which is of general circulation within Tazewell County.